Within Facebook

Within Facebook

The Blend Within



May 2022



Sabrine Abou Roumia | The Hague, Netherlands
“colored by the difference of both cultures“

Interview | Sabrine Abou Roumia | Fashion blogger

I am
I am a 22 year old girl, who has a mixed identity. Because of that I’m open minded, sensitive and have a lot of empathy.

What is your cultural background?
My mother is born in Morocco (Arabic) and my father in Egypt, My mother has been living in Holland since she was 16. My father has been in Holland since he was 25.

In terms of ethnicity / culture / identity how would you describe yourself?
I’m someone who is colored by the difference of both cultures. But I see myself more as a world citizen, instead of being connected to only one culture. I think this is because of my mixed identity. I don’t really feel connected to one culture. But the mix of two cultures makes me who I am.

What aspects of your culture are most important to you?
From my mother’s side being polite to other people. Family and the hospitality from both sides. In the Egyptian culture it is really important to be a strong individual, not being afraid of who you are, which I really admire. Also having fun and entertainment is a strong aspect in the Egyptian culture.

Has your cultural background influenced your life/ and or work – hobbies? And if it did could you give some examples?
I think my cultural background made me open-minded to people/experiences etc. I think my mixed background is the main reason why I’m always in for adventure and curious for other cultures, people, different kitchens and my wish to explore more of the world.  I think that each culture has something beautiful and we all can learn from each other.

In what language do you dream?
Dutch, my Arabic is not so good.

Earliest Memory?
I think the time my father came to visit me when I was three years old. He always wore sunglasses and I always wanted to play with them. When he left, his broken glasses remained with me. I think I’ ve broken at least 3 of his sunglasses.

Growing up you
There were some struggles, but it only made my family closer and made me a stronger person. It has also led to the fact that I’m an introvert (quiet type), but I’m really trying to come out of my shell and that’s working so far.

What most people don’t know about you is…
I come across as quiet and introvert, but that’s actually not how I would describe myself. I get a lot energy from other people and I really don’t like being by myself. It just takes a while for me to open up to people.

Cannot live without?
Family, good conversations, sushi. Fashion and I love sunshine. Cuddling, I really like to cuddle.

What inspires you?
People who choose to be a good person. People who know how to be optimistic and positive, although they are having a hard time. And people who can give without expecting to get something back, to really give from the heart. Fashion inspires my creativity

Currently working on?
At the moment I’m studying Applied Psychology in Amsterdam and I have to write my thesis this year. Currently I’m doing the minor Fashion Marketing at AMFI (Amsterdam Fashion Institute). I’m also running a fashion blog with my sister in law. We’ve just launched a t-shirt line.

Best advice you’ve ever received?
It’s probably something my mother gave me. Develop yourself, be independent and be good to others and yourself.

What are you listening (music) to at the moment?
I listen alot to Alt-J, Lana del Rey and The Weeknd.

If you ruled the world what would you do?
I would make sure that no one has to live in poverty and I would try to connect people instead of separate people.

Message to the world.
Do everything with the intention to be good to others and to yourself.

Where can people find you? (Venues / Web / Social media)
Instagram outfithunter, FB outfithunter

Thank you for your time & energy

The Blend Within  | Connected by Similarities